New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that with the appearance of new technologies, children nowadays spend more time on the latest electronic gadgets. In my opinion, this trend can bring both advantages and disadvantages, depending on the parents’ guidance and supervision. By ‘guidance and supervision’, I mean how the parents teach their children what to watch, what to play, and how much time to spend on such activities. On the one hand, without proper guidance and supervision, new technologies may impact children negatively in several ways. First, allowing children to use those devices for too long may lead to serious health problems. Those who keep their eyes glued to the screen will eventually suffer due to eye-strain. Moreover, spending long periods of time on those devices means that children will have less time for playing outside or for any physical activities, which can lead to an unhealthy lifestyle that can affect them later in life. Second, the Internet is a place with many things that children should not have access to; things that could affect them mentally, such as pornography and violent content. There is a chance that children will stumble upon this kind of material if they are allowed to surf the Internet freely. On the other hand, under proper guidance and supervision, new technologies can be utilized for many beneficial purposes. They encourage children to spend their free time on broadening their knowledge, thus allowing the children’s talents to be discovered early, as evidenced by those 9-year-old geniuses that work for Apple, IBM, etc. Another reason is that the Internet gives children more opportunities to make friends, both friends from the same country and from others, using social networks like Facebook or Twitter. Consequently, it encourages children to develop a network of friends, which will be an essential skill when they are older. In conclusion, new technologies have both advantages and disadvantages. It is the parents’ responsibility to guide their children so that they can make use of the advantages of those technologies.