New stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these picturesare more effective thatn words. What is your opinion about this? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In our daily life, we see many photos or images of news events in newspapers and on television. Some people say that the images are more effective to tell the truth than words. Basically I agree to this idea, but there are some different idea as well. The idea that showing pictures is the effective way is obviously true, because we can see a lot of photos and images in media. We can see the atmosphere, facialexpressions and background scenarioes form the photos. Everybody believes that watching is more important that hearing. In addition, young people do not like reading recently. They are used to collecting information from the internet rather than books. For the young generation, images should be much more effective than reading every single letters, needless to say. Howeverm photos can not tell more than they show. You can see a facial expression of a murder in the picture, but you never know his history or habits without reading an investigation about him. When the East Japan Earthquake occurred, I read a lot of newspapaer articles about the families of vivtims. There are a huge amount of stories of children who lost parents with Tsunami and a man who lost his wife with a baby in her tummy, and so on. At that time, I felt strongly that words are much more effective that pictures. To sum up, if I am asked the question which more effective is, pictures or words. I would say pictures. But we should be more flecible to accept reading words as well as watching images, not escaping from letters. We have to try to collect the balanced information from media, not only by the pictures, but also valuable words.