New fluroquinolone derivatives as anti-bacterial

The quinolones are a group of antibacterial containing a bicyclic core structure belonged to the compound 4-quinolone. Following their discovery in the early 1960s, they have gained high importance as key therapies to treat both community-acquired and severe nosocomial infections. Quinolones and fluoroquinolones are a relatively new class of synthetic antibiotics with potent bactericidal, broad spectrum activity against many pathogens which are responsible for various infections including urinary tract infections (UTI), gastrointestinal infections, respiratory tract infections (RTI), sexually transmitted diseases (STD) and skin infections. Fluoroquinolones have a number of characteristics that made them highly used. Like the β-lactams and unlike the macrolides, they have a rapid bactericidal effect against most susceptible organisms. The fluoroquinolones penetrate into tissues and mammalian cells extremely well, a feature they share with the macrolides. In contrast, the β -lactams penetrate mammalian cells poorly and thus have low benefit when the pathogen is intracellular. Norfloxacin is a widely used antibacterial agent of this family and is the first choice of drug for the treatment of bacterial infections of the urinary, biliary, respiratory tracts. It is the first fluoroquinolone to be developed for clinical use. It was patented in 1978 and became the first fluoroquinolone to receive approval from US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) in 1984.