Negative influences of the Internet on children

Since the Internet was introduced to the world and widely used, there has been countless controversies over its effects to children. And while it has certainly revolutionized their daily life, I believe there are major side effects to this. For starters, the Internet is infamous for wasting many's time. Social medias, news, games, . . . are specifically designed with psychological tricks to lure in many children, of whom are predominantly targeted due to their undeveloped brains. This results in children mindlessly scrolling through media feeds, watching short enticing clips, playing video games for hours on end because their brains naturally releases dopamine over these contents, which, overtime makes children addicted. Consequently, they care less about school and personal health. Their eyes get damaged, their grade drops considerably, their personal relationships get ruined, . . . Overall their life is affected detrimentally. However, that's just merely scratching the surface. There are many horrors to this. Like mentioned, children aren't fully mature mentally. As a result, they're extremely susceptible to psychological tricks. Sick individuals may find ways to manipulate innocent children on the Internet. In fact, this has been an ever-lasting issue. Many children have been fooled by and in return, been products of children trafficking or have got their mind twisted. Take the blue whale's challenge for instance. There has been a recent news revolving around a middle school child, who, unfortunately participated it. In the end, he was found dead by suicide, and cause huge loss for the family. All in all, while the Internet has certainly helped children with their life, its negative effects are worth noting and has become more prevalent than ever. Personally, I think parents should reconsider how much access to the Internet should be given to their children.