Nearly everybody today has a television in their home and some academics believe that television has replaced all types of reading as a pastime. Others say that television breeds violence among young people. Do the advantages of television for young people outweigh the drawbacks?

It is becoming increasingly common for every home to have a television and some researchers use television to breed violence in adolescents. Although there are some dangers and disadvantages to watching television, I believe that the convenience often outweighs any drawbacks. There are two main advantages to watching television for teenagers. The one that attracts their curiosity in learning. For example, students live in Thailand but can learn the culture and landscape of England by watching the series: including eating, living and traveling. In addition, it can inspire them to plan for their future occupation. A further advantage is that teenagers can decrease stress by turning on their favorite television channel after class. On the other hand, there are many disadvantages to the fact that many people are very concerned about television that breeds violence among young people. The main one is that teenagers imitated their favorite celebrities on television. For instance, teenagers imitate character behavior by taking drugs to reduce stress and showing violence to their girlfriends, and then they copy that behavior because they want to be like them. The other drawback is that because there is no strict rating for adolescents on television viewing by the government. All in all, I think that the advantages of having a television in that home are greater than the disadvantages. However, several factors should be carefully taken into consideration by parents who should pay attention to their children in the television programs they watch and mention the pros and cons.