“ In today's world, many students use computers to help them in their studies both to write essays and access the internet. Some people believe this is a positive development, whereas others say it is detrimental. “ Do the advantages of using computers outweigh the drawbacks for university students

Computers nowadays have become an effective method for students as these gadgets would assist a large number of university students in academic path with writing essays and accessing information on online platforms. Some people believe that it leads to a positive enhancement, while opponents think that it is harmful. Although there are some disadvantages of using laptops, I totally believe that advantages of using computers outweigh any drawbacks. One of the most significant disadvantages to using computers is that a large number of students who engage in tertiary education would be intimidated by scammers as there is no privacy regulation on online platforms. For example, some Thai students are threatened by receiving texts and calls from fake accounts or avatars and these hackers aim to access personal information, especially in bank accounts. Another drawback is that some university students would obtain fake news or unreliable information from the internet. Some blogs and pages would rapidly update news and information without investigation, which would be harmful to their studies and lives. On the other hand, using the internet has several points in its favour. The main one is that most students are exposed to new information, valuable research, and online news from internet platforms such as wikipedia, researchgate, and BBC news. For instance, many students who study mathematics and statistics can access scientific journals and environmental datas to help them conduct their own dissertation. The other benefit is that a large number of students find it easy and convenient to book airline tickets or bus fares when they want to travel back to their countries as the internet is accessible anytime and everywhere. All in all, I think the benefits of using laptops are greater than the disadvantages. However, students should not reveal essential information on online platforms such as phone numbers or emails and governments should impose rules according to posting online information and news.