n some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

It is argued that governments should levy a tariff on junk food because the number of health risks associated with consuming this kind of food is on the rise. It is agreed that a higher rate of tax should be paid by fast food companies. Firstly, this essay will discuss the fact that alcohol and tobacco companies already pay higher taxes and secondly, discuss how higher taxes would raise prices and lower consumption, followed by a reasoned conclusion. Higher excise on liqueur and cigarettes has proven to be successful at curbing the harm caused by these substances. This revenue has been used to treat health problems associated with these products, has proven useful in advertising campaigns warning people about the dangers of alcohol and tobacco abuse and tax from fast food could be used in the same way. The United Kingdom is a prime example, where money from smokers is used to treat lung cancer and heart disease. However, some may argue that alcohol and tobacco are addictive substances and fast food should not be treated in the same way. Increasing taxes would raise prices and lower consumption. Fast food companies would pass on these taxes to consumers in the form of higher prices and this would lead to people not being able to afford junk food. For instance, the cost of organic food has proven prohibitively expensive for most people. Despite this, people in many developed countries, where the problem is most acute, can afford price hikes and will continue to eat high fat meals. In conclusion, junk food should be taxed at a higher rate because of the good precedent set by alcohol and tobacco and the fact that the increased cost should reduce the amount of fast food people buy. Finally, it is predicted that with the ever increasing health problems associated with obesity, governments are sure to introduce some kind of ‘fat tax’ in the near future.