My reflection of hospital

Before the orientation week while I was preparing for my first day at the Mental Health Hospital. I was confused and not fully ready to begin the psychiatric's rotations. On the first day, October 24, we went to the mental health department in The Al-Mahjar hospital. The gathering was at 10 o’clock in the meeting room. Everything was going well until I arrived and stopped at the gate of the hospital. I was shocked that the place was very old and uncared for. Dr. Nova was our instructor that day. She waiting for the us in the meeting room and She started introducing us to the hospital and the most common case and What are the things that should be do and that should be avoided while dealing with a psycatric patient. I learned a lot. Then, I got excited when it was time to explore the hospital and see the patients. It was new and unusual experience for me. We saw some of the chronic cases. For a moment I thought I was in a prison because that's what I think they feel like. Second orientation day was in Al-Amal hospital. This place was more comfortable and neat. I arrived to the hospital and everyone was friendly and guiding me to the meeting room. We were with Dr. Lujain that day. In the meeting room, the nurse gave us refreshing information about the hospital, addiction substances and their symptoms, medications and so on. It really opened my eyes about a lot of things that l consider when I get to interview the patients. Lastly, we took a quick tour of the hospital's sections to know where to go on our next rotation. The Third day was the orientation for the virtual simulation. They discussed and explained everything and How will it work. I was familiar with the idea of the simulation so I wasn't scared nor nervous. It is great to have this opportunity to learn from our mistakes and it's a chance to improve my skills. I feel like l'll be much more comfortable in simulation rather than in the hospital. The simulation is a brilliant idea and such a safe experience during the pandemic. After that we visited Erfan hospital with Dr. Alaa it was so comfortable and nice. Finally, The whole experience went smoothly, I gained a very good knowledge that I can now say that I'm prepared for the upcoming clinical rotations. I'll start reading more and reviewing the information before the next clinical day. I'll also practice on my communication skills since it's the most important skill in this course.