Multinational companies are becoming increasingly common in developing countries?

Multinational companies are spreading tremendously all over the world especially developing countries. While it can has its merits such as helping countries in utilizing labor from different parts of the world to keep consumer costs low and raising the quality standards of products and services, it has its demerits such as pushing local firms out of business and maltreatment of employees and not following regulations and laws. In what follows both advantages and disadvantages of multinational companies will be explained. On one hand, multinational companies have merits and it develops the host country in different aspects. Specifically, if we focus on how those companies make good use of labor from all the over in poorer countries that require low wages to decrease consumer costs. This will benefit the host country in creating a local market with affordable products which wasn’t the case before the multinational companies. Moreover, it keeps the quality standards stable and adhering the world well-known brands. On the contrary of the situation before the multinational companies where developing countries didn’t have to worry about the international standards since they were unaffordable to the customers compared to the local products so they had no competition and the customers had no choice. On the other hand, multinational companies have demerits such as dominating the market which can make it challenging to the small businesses to survive. For example, in the UAE there is a very aggressive competition when it comes to grocery items such as fruits and vegetables since it imports products from all over the world with affordable prices so the local items are not attractive to the customer anymore which is hurting the local economy. Adding to this, however it’s expected that as the multinational companies gain their power and dominance in the market, they follow the country’s labor laws and regulations. But, unfortunately that’s not the case when it comes to practice. Their main focus is profit and nothing other than profit so sometimes the rules and regulations won’t be followed if it will hinder their growth or making profit. In conclusion, after discussing both advantages and disadvantages of multinational companies. It can be considered by host countries to try to benefit from all the goodness of it and avoid all the negative effects of it.