Most people prefer shopping in supermarkets nowadays. How does this affect the local shops? What are the positive and negative impacts of this development?

These days, there are many more customers buying products from supermarkets rather than local stores, which can affect the local shops in many ways. In this essay, I will also explain the positive and negative impacts of this phenomenon /situation/ scenario. To start with, shopping in supermarkets has various advantages, which make the local stores lose their popularity. First of all, people can save a lot of time buying all the needed products in a single place rather than going to several small shops to obtain all the products they desire. On the other hand, shopping in supermarkets has several numbers of drawbacks as well. Firstly, the amount of time it takes for fruits and vegetables to get from the farm to the warehouse then to the supermarket is considered as long, which makes products not as fresh. It also makes the farm owners have to spray pesticides on the fruits and vegetables to stop insects from destroying the looks of the product. This also means that people would be eating chemicals that could be harmful to the human body. This is why the freshness of products in superstores creates a negative impact on the supermarkets. In conclusion, even though supermarkets provide a lot of convenience to people’s daily routines. Therefore, they have also impacted most local businesses since they are more likely to be favorable than local shops.