merits and demerits of social media

The importance of social media in this era of globalization and digitization cant be denied or overlooked. This emerging revolution of information broadcasting has opened up new horizons. Having said that every medium has its own merits and demerits and it largely depends on the target audience, objectivity and the extent of exposure. In addition to the above, I would like to elaborate further that social media is reaching to the unreached. In a flash of a second information reaches to hundreds of people. This enables the reach of ideas and information to sections of society where it is needed most. The power of social media can make or break socio-economic structures. It has benefitted the neglected or marginalised people and has put them in limelight. Just a ten seconds video of a begger woman in West Bengal has brought her so much recognition and attention from the people that she was made a singing sensation overnight Another recent example of the might of social media came to the fore when a small eatery owner, an octogenarian, was almost resurrected from his misery when a vlogger put a small video of his miserable condition on YouTube. This video went viral and that was followed by thousands of good samaratians flocking to his shop to buy food. This made him so successful that within a month of posting the video he became the proud owner of a restaurent. There are a host of examples of people reaching out to people in the hour of need. In these testing times of the pandemic, social media emerged as a tool to