Some people believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The effectiveness of studying foreign language is debatable. Children have begun started studying a foreign language at secondary school, but introducing them earlier is recommended by some educational institutions. This essay will discuss why the advantages of studying foreign language at primary school do in fact outweigh the disadvantages. The greatest benefit of studying a new language at primary school is that young children can pick up languages more easily than teenagers. Their brains are more capable to grasp anything quickly, which facilitates learning another language much faster than adults. For instance, a recent survey from Times of India, shows that the people who learnt new languages at their primary school will impact much more effectively in later life than who learnt at secondary school. Thus, early introduction of new language at primary school will benefit to get better understanding of other cultures. However, there are some disadvantages associated with it. Primary school teachers should be good at their language skills, if they does not contain the necessary skills themselves, they are to be replaced with specialists to deliver the lessons, the flexibility referred to above does not match and students should face a lot of consequences while learning a new language. If the primary schools are not standardized, secondary schools should face a great variety of problems in different languages with their intake, resulting in a classroom experience which the earlier gains are went in a vain. To conclude, as per the persuaded discussion till now, exposure to new languages at early encourages children to get better understanding of society, culture and economics. Thus experiencing of young studying early makes more advantageous than disadvantageous.