Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals

It is argued that these days, the majority of people tend to enjoy themselves at the time of festival in lieu of grasping the true definition of traditional or religious festivals. While I agree that enjoyment seems to be the priority during the festival times, I do not agree with the statement that people have forgotten what these festivals’ means for the reasons provided below. First and foremost, it is obvious that all the traditional or spiritual festivals are occasions for us to celebrate. For example, in Vietnam and other countries as well, people tend to be crowded in the street whenever Christmas and New Year comes to go shopping in order to decorate their homes and give lovely presents to the one they love. Eventually, those things gradually become traditional in our life. Another point I would like to make is that these festivals are eager to be a precious holiday period for people who stay away from their homes to have a gathering more than a time to do religious activities. That is the reason why we usually see that the street on those occasions is always full of people spending time together with family members. Admittedly, I totally disagree with the idea that the true meaning of festivals are ignored. As you might know, since we were just little kids, all the reasons for celebrating Christmas and a variety of events in other religions have been taught in the curriculum. Children knowing and singing Christmas songs or even playing telling the story of Jesus' birth would be a prime example. Furthermore, these meanings are deeply rooted in our culture and passed down to the following generation in every family. Therefore, people always bear in mind the meanings of those events from being a kid to an adult. In conclusion, because of the aforementioned reasons, I totally disagree with the statement that traditional or spiritual festivals’ definition is forgotten by most people who just want to enjoy themselves throughout the festival period.