Most people believe that stricter punishments such as high penalty should be imposed on the ones who violate the traffic rules.

Traffic rules are made by the authorities to ensure safety and security of people commuting on daily basis through roads. As abiding by the traffic laws are extremely crucial, majority of people assert that punishments such as high fines should be imposed by the government on those who disobey them. I agree to the statement to some extent as I believe that many other measures can be adopted by the legal bodies to motivate people to obey the traffic rules voluntarily. To begin with, imposing high fines on the people who violate the traffic rules will be an effective measure because of many reasons. Predominantly, upon breaching the laws when regime takes strict actions of imposing high fines rather than mere warning, they are less likely to repeat the offense. To explicate, it is often observed that in case of sheer warnings, people do not take traffic rules seriously. In those countries, where government are strict in case of obeying traffic rules, people tend to be more vigilant while driving. As not only a single mistake on road will end up in heavy penalties, but also stricter actions such as suspending the driving license can also be adopted by the authorities. As a result, not only people obey traffic laws, but also the chances of accidents on roads alleviate. Thus, the fear of losing heavy amount from their pockets and cancelling their driving license make them obey traffic rules seriously. To exemplify, countries such as Canada and America impose the fine of up to 5000$ for the violation of traffic rules which has made those countries far better in terms of smooth-running traffic on roads. However, there are multifarious ways that can be adopted by the authorities to encourage people to abide by traffic rules. Primarily, conducting seminars and awareness campaigns to make people acquainted with the traffic laws can be helpful. To clarify, when people will be acknowledged about the hazards of violating traffic rules, a feeling of encouragement to comply with the rules and regulations will be instilled in them. Not only government, but also traffic police team can also take an active participation in such awareness campaigns to discuss the causalities they confront who do not follow traffic rules while driving on road. As a result, people will voluntarily initiate to obey traffic rules. For instance, a survey conducted by Highway Authority, USA in June 2013 on a group of 500 randomly selected commuters revealed that after attending seminars on traffic rules, 67% of them were more cautious while driving on roads by following proper traffic laws. Moreover, as educational institutes lay the basic foundation of a child, organizing classes on the laws of traffic rules in the schools can be helpful. To substantiate, simultaneously with the curriculum, seminars on traffic rules should be arranged at regular intervals in schools so that children can get acquainted with the rules and regulations to follow on the road. In this way, they will tend to abide by the rules once they will start driving. Not only they will be well- versed with the traffic rules, but also be aware of the hazards of violating traffic rules. To illustrate, a survey conducted by UNESCO, Japan on 20 universities in December 2016 revealed that at an average 56% of the students were following traffic rules while driving their conveyance as a result of regular seminars in their institutes. To encapsulate, it can be concluded that although imposing harsh penalties on breaching traffic rules can force the people to comply with the rules and regulations, they can still be encouraged to stick to the traffic laws by taking above-mentioned pertinent initiatives. If not only government, but also citizens work collaboratively to ensure traffic rules implementation, smooth traffic on roads can be witnessed.