In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Despite the dramatic improvement in food production and farming methods in the recent decades, many people are still unable to secure their food across the world and it turns to a global challenge that affects different aspects of human life. Several social and economic reasons have been already addressed for such a phenomenon. In my opinion, poverty could be considered as the leading cause of famine. According to statistics, the amount of consumed food is associated with wealth index and socio-economic status of people and countries. Poor people or nations are more at risk of starvation and it seems if we can reduce economic discriminations and make more equal distribution for wealth this problem might be diminished or even eradicated. Secondly, growing number of population must be spotted as one the leading cause of such a situation. It has been previously argued that the trend of increase of food production is linear, meanwhile number of population is growing exponentially and as result, the gap between product food and size of populations is increasing. Consequently, it leads to higher people who will be affected by food-inadequacy. Moreover, we all know that population growth rate is higher in low and middle income countries where less agriculture development has occurred over the years. It could be concluded that, famine varies geographically with more affected people in countries with higher population and lower national income. These two along with several other factors are the main drivers of more hunger people across the world nowadays.