More people decided to have children in their later age than in the past. Why? Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

Different from the past, nowadays, many families choose to delay having a baby considering their maturity and readiness. However, growing children at a young age must not be judged because our parents have successfully risen today's generations. This essay will scrutinize both benefits and drawbacks of giving birth at a later age. First and foremost, raising children at a young age is never easy. A mother should be ready with sleepless nights leading to tremendous impacts on mental health. Moreover, at this stage, the emotion of younger people are more unstable than the elderly causing anxiety which finally might rise baby blues syndrome. The study of WHO claimed that delay to raise a baby for 1 year will reduce depression for 67% of women in the UK. Although it is true that age is not the only factor of maturity, people have to consider the risk that might arise. Secondly, a family should prepare a better living when they decide to have a child. For instance, at least a family is required to have a job, a house, and saving until finally, they can confidently raising an educated son or daughter. This is because the rate of inflation has been increasing year by year and so has the cost of education. Unless a family postpones taking care of children and finding a decent job first, they will not be able to maintain their welfare. Meanwhile, growing a child at a later age also has a drawback as parents must consider the pension age. If they have retired before the children grow up as an adult, they should think a lot about how to pay tuition fees at their retirement age. In conclusion, the benefits of postponing to have a baby are outweighing the drawbacks for mental health and welfare issues. However, a consideration of pension should be regarded in order to assure a sustainable living and better education in a family.