Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society.

There is a contentious argument over the pros and cons of taking a hiatus year after graduating from school and before going to college. Having enough time to prepare the requirements of colleges as well as searching about the convenient major the student is interested in are the main advantages. Whereas, not using this year-off wisely along with being behind compared to international students from over the world have to be the most common disadvantages. Universities usually expect the students to take several tests which usually require a long preparation time. To elucidate, taking a hiatus would give students the chance to study well for their test seriously and get the scores they are aiming for and required by the university they want to apply to. On the other hand, some students may decide to have a year-off to produce more and get ready for university. But they might waste this year by missing around and entertaining themselves as if it is leisure time. Moreover, when you apply for universities internationally, some might consider the graduation year, Therefore, you are considered behind compared to other applicants. Hence, you have a lower chance of getting accepted. To put in concisely, getting a year-off has both its peaks and valleys depending on how the student's self-discipline and commitment level. To sum up, having time to assure you have all the requirements and therefore having higher chances and opportunities along with picking the right field you want to study and work in for the rest of your life must be weighed against the drawbacks such as not being able to manage your time and being a little late when applying.