More and more young people are choosing to get married later in life. Why? Is it a positive or negative trend?

These days, many people decide to delay their marriage and wait until they get older. In this essay, I will state several reasons for this trend before analyzing its drawbacks and benefits. There are many reasons why people are against getting married when they are young. Firstly, young people nowadays often attach more value to their professions, which require people to allocate a tremendous amount of time and effort. Hence, if people split their time between raising a family and working when they are in the early stage of life, their career prospect could be impacted negatively. Secondly, later marriage could give young people countless opportunities to enjoy their life. For example, people could go travelling freely without bearing family responsibilities. The growing tendency of postponing marriage is both advantageous and disadvantageous. On the one hand, this phenomenon allows the young generation more time to have adequate insight into their needs and their partners. As a result, the mutual understanding between partners could be raised, which helps to limit severe conflicts and maintain a long-lasting and happy marriage. On the other hand, people getting married later have to deal with social stigma and immense pressure from their families especially in Asian countries where marrying at a young age is still a common practice. Thus, these people might suffer from mild depression or chronic stress since they have to face constant judgement about their manners and fertility for a long time. In conclusion, since young people are more career-driven and want to lead an independent life, they often incline to later marriage. This tendency could bring them a happier family but it can also cause unnecessary stress.