More and more wild animals are on verge of extinction and others are on the endangered list. What are the reason for this? What can be done to solve this problem?

The population of wild animals is falling at a very rapid rate such that some are about to go extinct, while others are put on the endangered list. This essay will discuss why this is happening and what are the possible ways to rectify this mishappening. One of the main reason for the decrease in the number of wildlife can be attributed to illegal hunting and poaching. Innocent animals are not only killed by hunters for fun, but also for their skin, tooth and bones which are sold at high prices in the black market. One such incident I read about was a poacher being arrested with guns and elephant tusks. Skins of endangered species were also found at his place. Clearly killing a number of them for personal benefits. The other prominent reason for the situation is destruction of natural habitat of the animals. Rapid urbanization and increase in demand of houses have led to large deforestation. As a result, the residents of jungles find it difficult to sustain their life. With the lack of enough resources to live, the natural ecosystem has been significantly disturbed, less forests means less areas to hunt and obtain food. This has contributed to fall in the count of wild animals. According to a recent research, compared to what was 60% in 1990's, the total forest area has seen a decline of 10%, while the humans have yet again invaded the animal territory some way or other, and saw a rise of 12% in land covered. According to me, there are several measures to address this issue. Although, there are laws that make hunting illegal, but we need more strict laws to stop such activities. Societies should be encouraged to plant more and more trees to restore the loss of woods. There should be a fixed boundaries between animal kingdom and human residence.