More and more students at university today are not choosing to study science. Why is this happening? What are the effects of this?

No one denies the significance of science and its contribution to human beings’ vitality, growth, development and security which justifies the ample opportunities available at universities to get educated in science related disciplines. Nonetheless, today a plethora students attending unversity are not so willing to select science as their major, leading to detrimental consequences. The reasons underlining this phenomenon and the ensuing aftermaths are discussed below. A multimude of factors might have contributed to this situation. To begin with, an inclinication toward science and being involved in it is normally compatible to people who possesso some personality features such as precision, curiosity –or as psycologist put it are left- hemisphere dominated. The nature of science can’t be alluring to people who tend to enjoy the sophistications, creaivity and liberty offered by other disciplines like art or literature, categorized under the umbrella term social sciences. Another factor that might account for refraining from science studies can be traced in the fact that the learners may not perceive the career prospect much attractive. Spending hours in laboratories and doing research might not be an ideal picture of their future professional life for such students. Undoubtedly, this unwillingness may culminate in adverse conditions. One such condition can be a scarcity of graduates of such disciplines leading to a limited number of available qualified work force to get engaged in producing first- hand knowledge and original research projects. This in turn will results in a hinderance in the scientic and overall development of a country. Another deleterious consequence can be reflected in dependence to other countries for the essential knowlede needed to be developed into the fundamental technologies and services required in different domains. Overall, regarding the consequences of this situation, effective measures should be adopted by the authorities to present a more pleasant protraite of science-related majors and ensure that an adequate number of students will fill the vacant seats in such disciplines in the universities.