More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in foreign countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in foreign countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages? Nowadays, the choice of studying abroad is on the rise for students that want to have tertiary education. Although a few downsides to this approach can be seen, there are merits to which we should not turn a blind eye. On the plus side, the advantages for studying abroad are countless for students. To begin with, while students are studying in foreign countries, they can have a valuable opportunity for intercultural competence. In other words, they are more likely to interact with people from different cultures and countries who have been shaped by different values, beliefs and experiences. Therefore, adaptation to a new culture can give them a new outlook on their life. Moreover, if students go abroad, they can choose an interested major for study due to the fact that many countries do not have a university entrance exam. It is easier for a student to choose a favorite major without any stress. Therefore, they can achieve their full potential. Take Canada, which has prestigious universities, for example; students can easily get admission to universities. However, studying in foreign countries has serious disadvantages for students. The most obvious argument is concerned with the student’s homesickness. Feeling homesick is the first thing that can happen to any student abroad, especially at the beginning of entering a country that can lead to trauma for students. Take the feeling of homesickness for Iranian students who have more family affiliation, for example. It causes mental problems. Moreover, before they desire to enter another country for studying, they should learn the language of the host country. Due to the fact that it is a vital key for foreigner’s students that they can easily communicate with others. Therefore, the language barrier leads to a grave problem meeting their daily needs. To conclude, studying in a foreign country for students can be both rewarding and problematic. While it might help intercultural competence and the choice of a favorite major, a student’s mental health may be put in jeopardy, and it also leads to language problems.