More and more plastic is polluting the cities, the countryside and oceans. What problems are caused by plastic waste? What can be done to solve the problem?

The urban, rural district and seas are polluted with plastic nowadays. There are a variety of factors contributing to this phenomenon and a solution to deal with plastic pollution. In most cases, plastic pollution causes flooding. Disposing off plastic improperly leads to blockage of drainages which will cause water to accumulate in some places during a heavy rainfall. This is evident even in most developed cities, like in the Philippines, specifically in Metro Manila which is the country’s capital; it is often flooded during typhoons and the trash on the streets are to blame. Meanwhile, excessive plastic in the environment can pollute the soil especially in the agricultural areas. Plastic releases toxins in the soil which will contaminate the farmlands, affecting crops and livestocks. Furthermore, research on the presence of plastic in crops such as vegetables and fruits are ongoing and they’ve proved that microplastic can be embedded in the crop’s tissue which will greatly affect the ecosystem once these crops were ingested. Another serious drawback of plastic is the safety of sea creatures. Sea animals are hardly hit with this pressing issue; when these animals see the plastic floating in bodies of water, they thought it is food and eat it, and they’re unable to digest it, after which, it gets stuck in their digestive system, then it will send a signal to their brain that they are full until they die because of malnutrition and ingestion of inedible substance. When the animal’s debris is seen on the shore, an autopsy will reveal that they died because of plastic ingestion. One best solution to tackle this phenomenon is by information dissemination. People need to be well informed inorder for them to know the effects of plastic pollution. Proper waste disposal campaigns like The Green Planet which is led by NGOs and the government will be a great drive to inform the public so that they will be more responsible and caring for the environment. The public must be aware of the side effects of plastic and as a result, they will avoid using it, these individuals may be a drop in the ocean when compared to the world’s population but these campaigns must begin from something small with a hope of getting more people on board. To conclude, plastic pollution can be harmful for the city, farmlands and marine life. Such serious problems can be reduced by informing the public of proper ways to manage their waste and promoting green living.