: More and more people want to buy famous brands of items. Is this a negative or positive development?

Nowadays, more and more individuals prefer luxurious brands. This phenomenon has caused a negative trend in daily life. And this essay will highlight two negative points of this trend. Firstly, purchasing luxurious brands might cause an increase in consumerism that has bad effects on the environment. As trends change quickly, people who pursue brand-name products will constantly purchase new items to catch up with trends and this will cause an increase in consumerism. For instance, a new model of iPhones is always released every year, which may make those who prioritize luxury goods willing to spend money to buy a new one and throw away the old one. This gives reasons as to why manufacturing and waste increase every year loading landfill sites. If this amount of waste is not handled in time and properly, it will cause serious environmental pollution and cause long-term detrimental effects on people’s lives. In addition, the preference for famous brands would be a big obstacle for domestic brands to develop. The more high-end products are prioritized, the more local goods are ignored. In other words, local manufacturers may have difficulties in doing business and trading when their products are not well welcomed by people in their countries and face loss in revenue. To illustrate, famous brands such as Nike or Adidas can attract most consumers thanks to their popularity while local sneaker manufacturers can only attract a small number of customers and cannot compete with those well-known brands. Accordingly, local companies may go bankrupt and only the biggest brands enjoy the most profits. In conclusion, the phenomenon that more and more customers prioritize brand-name products may lead to many negative effects, including increased consumption leading to environmental impacts or hardships for domestic businesses.