More and more people today are using computers and electronic devices to access information. Therefore there is no longer any need to print books, magazines or newspapers.

Mt is obvious that nowadays more and more people prefer to use various electronic devices in order to access information. It is a common belief that it is unnecessary to have hard copies of books, magazines and newspapers. In this essay, I will explore the matter and explain why I totally agree with this notion. Firstly, one of the major reasons why printed literature should be avoided is the massive deforestation of our planet. The urge to own a hardcopy of a certain book is one of the main drivers of paper production companies around the world. A good example of deforestation is that currently, nearly thirty per cent of the Amazonian forests are facing extinction, as well as its fauna. A huge number of international companies are adopting the “green” rules which promote printing only essential documents and transferring from stamping hardcopy to using electronic signatures. Such an approach greatly reduces the usage of paper in the offices. Secondly, another reason supporting the opening notion is that electronic sources are much more accessible for the population. For instance, it is of tremendous convenience when a person can obtain the required information in one click. Furthermore, it is beneficial to people with disabilities who can not physically go to a newsstand or a book store. Also, more people have access to electronic versions due to lower prices. For example, college student can have all of their books on their computers rather than purchasing and carrying printed versions around the campus. In conclusion, I strongly support the idea we should try to use soft copies. The main reasons in my opinion are that cellulose producing companies contribute to deforestation and that e-copies are easier to access.