More and more people today are drinking sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons for this? What are the solutions?

Health experts have warned against an increase in addictions to sugary drinks and therefore the concomitant risks. In my opinion, this is often thanks to both advertising and encroachment in developing markets and therefore the solution is to enact various restrictions. Over-consumption of sugary drinks is often directly attributed to advertising and opening up vulnerable new markets. In much of the developed world, people are getting more health-conscious and while consumption may increase as a complete number, it's more likely to say no as a proportion. This is often not the case within the developing world in countries like Vietnam. A burgeoning middle-class within the last 20 years including unregulated ad campaigns from Pepsi and Coca Cola have led to an epidemic of sugary drinks within the market. Consumers now have more income and are generally less educated about the long-term effects of sugar while companies are wanting to exploit these facts to fatten their bottom line. The only shown to be true solutions for any public health crisis are regulation. One among the foremost famously successful laws during this area was the ban on large sugary drinks in NY City. It prohibited only the most important sizes but had an outsized impact before it had been ultimately repealed thanks to corporate lobbying. In its place, many nations including NY and California enacted taxes that have driven up the value of sugar-heavy drinks. The result's that fewer people are willing to require on the associated health risks given the upper prices. If federal governments tax these drinks likewise to cigarettes, then their popularity will decline even faster. In conclusion, the ubiquity of sugary drinks is right down to exploitation of developing nations and may be curbed through thoughtful regulation. Governments that take firm, unpopular steps towards these reforms will later economize in medical aid.