Some young people are sent to prison for minor crimes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such imprisonment?

Jailing the committers of minor crimes is chosen as a punishment and there is an essential percentage of young people among them. That has been done in hope that the time spent in prison will prompt them to get back to the right way and prevent them from committing the bigger ones. However, this approach decreases the chances of being hired in the labour market in the future. The youngsters who may otherwise become serious criminals may be deterred by the thought of prison. Future criminals may choose to act in a different manner or make different choices if there is a solid understanding of the consequences. The one who saw prison from a closer viewpoint probably will decide to avoid criminal activity and will attempt to follow the law as closely as possible to avoid returning to prison. In this aspect, the prison system is effective in rehabilitating prisoners and creating responsible citizens. This effectiveness is proven by statistics which states that only 2 per cent of previous offenders ate age 16-25 end up back in jail. The main disadvantage of the young who have served time in prison is succeeding in seeking a decent job. Although there are services that help prisoners to find work before they leave prison, some may have difficulty keeping a job while others may have difficulty finding a job. Young ex-prisoners with high-level skills and abilities may end up working in menial jobs because they are discriminated against if they apply for anything higher. Furthermore, many offenders may find that they have become deskilled while serving their sentence. According to the US Bureau of Labor Statistics two-thirds of men who were incarcerated for six months at age 19 are hired approximately twice slower and less compared to ones who had never been arrested. In conclusion, being locked up for inessential offences reduces the likelihood of committing bigger crimes, however, it influences the further employment process negatively