More and more people no longer read newspapers or watch TV programmes to get their news and instead read online. Is this a positive or negative development?

Delivering of News to the masses have evolved throughout the years due to the advancement of technology. While some people read newspapers or watch TV programmes to know more about current events, several readers nowadays have turned to online platforms as it is more convenient and real-time. This essay will argue that reading news through online is a positive development which outweighs the negative. Newspaper and TV news programmes have been in our culture for a very long time. However, the use of technology has led many newspaper companies to switch online as it is more cost-efficient and can reach more readers regardless of geography. Due to this technological development, many printing services have lost several of their clients, and sooner or later, their services will become obsolete. As a result, this can cause great number of workers in the printing industry to lose their jobs as they won’t be able to cope up with the advancement of technology. To illustrate, huge news media companies have started building mobile apps to post their daily news such as Inquirer and New York Times. Since they are now using mobile platforms, these media companies are now only printing newspapers in a very limited number. Furthermore, A report released by SWS survey shows that majority of the printing services in Manila have already shutdown due to the low demands of newspapers which is very different during the early 90s. On the contrary, the use of online platforms to deliver news is more convenient to numerous media outlets as they can reach as many readers as possible around the globe. In particular, younger generations are more socially aware on what is happening around them due to the up-to-date and real-time news delivery in social media platforms. For example, facebook has been the most used social media in the Philippines. And because of this, several news outlets have started creating facebook pages in order for them to post the latest current events in the Philippines. A plethora of Filipinos have started to become more socially and politically engaged due to the real-time news update. Also, they no longer need to wait for primetime TV news or to read newspaper just to stay up-to-date with latest news. In conclusion, online platforms have become a new medium for media to bring the latest events to several people around the world. Although this development has negative impact to the printing industry, the positive developments outweigh the negative as media outlets have been able to reach to much more greater audiences regardless of their age and social status.