More and more people claim that modern work patterns are a source of stress.

The way people work nowadays may well give rise to the popular opinion that work causes stress. However, it is not only work. While work may be a contributing factor, it is not the only cause of stress for people. The pace of life in general nowadays may generate significant feelings of stress. Currently, the modern work environment is very flexible and certainly some comapnies are more demanding in many ways due to increased global competition and the desire to satisfy consumers instantly. This creates the need for fast, flexible working practices in order to respond to such demand. Technology and mobility are possible the greatest drivers of change in the workplace at the moment. The ability to work from home or in the field by accessing data and resources using smartphones, tablets and laptops, means that many people do not have such a structured work schedule anymore. They may be on call or available to their clients or customers for a greater part of each day, thus increasing the pressure to continually perform and maintain efficiency. This can lead to lines blurring between time dedicated to work and leisure time or free time. Often phone calls, texts, or emails are answered in traditionally non-working time. This can create a feeling of never being free from work for some people. However, it is not only work which creates a more dynamic life, and such prevalent stress, for people. Personal activities and family obligations can also add to the feeling of being stressed. It can be equally said that more and more people believe that their lives are generally busier now. The pace of life in general has become quicker in line with the demand for instant gratification and the availability of everything at our fingertips. People have become accustomed to having access to shopping, banking and other daily services round the clock, every day, all year long. This increased dynamism of life can make it more difficult to relax and combat the effects of stress. Most importantly, there are some possible solutions which have been proven to help reduce the feelings of stress, whatever the cause. Regular exercise and spending time on a hobby or other pastime helps people to concentrate on something else and control what they are doing rather than being constantly responding to external factors. A simple massage or visit to a spa can help people feel regenerated and full of vigour, ready to tackle life again with new enthusiasm. Possibly the most important thing a person can do to control the effect of stress on their life is to simply take control and plan their time and activities well to ensure that they are not becoming overworked or overburdened with the everyday activities of life. Planning quiet time to relax, regardless of the activity, will help avoid stress affecting their lives negatively. Overall, a good life-balance between work, personal life, family obligations and other activities is the best solution to ensure good health and wellbeing all round.