More and more people are suffering from health problems caused by modern life style which cannot be treated with modern medicines. Some people think that a return to traditional medicines should be encouraged. To what extent do you agree?

Sedentary lifestyle and high levels of stress have given rise to myriad health issues. There are people who suggest that traditional medicines can solve many of these concerns and therefore we should go back to them. I completely agree with this view. In my opinion, traditional medicine holds the key to cure diseases that cannot be cured by modern medicine without any reactions. Firstly, modern ways of living and working has created an environment of excessive stress and pressure, especially among people living in metropolitan cities. Lack of sufficient physical activities and frequent consumption of processed foods has a very harmful effect on the body. As a result, humans become more prone to chronic diseases like cancer and diabetes, which are very difficult to cure, if not diagnosed correctly in the initial stages. For instance, brain and liver cancer are still incurable by allopathy and there is no breakthrough solution in sight yet. In addition to this, a recent survey in China, stated that the occurrences of these diseases are uncommon among people who follow a healthy lifestyle and consume natural herbs and roots. It is, therefore, no surprise that some people have started advocating a switch from allopathy to Ayurveda and acupuncture due to their proven history of treating major diseases without any side effects. This is because ancient medicinal systems treat diseases by attacking the root of the problem and heals the patient in a holistic manner. To illustrate a point, a substance found in the root of turmeric plant has been clinically proven to be effective at attacking the cancer cells leaving aside the good cells. By contrast, modern techniques like chemotherapy have dangerous side effects. To conclude, I believe that the absence of side effects and the ability to treat a person in a holistic manner makes traditional medicines more effective at curing health problems caused by the modern lifestyle.