More and more people are moving away from agricultural background to relocate to cities in order to look for work. What will be the consequences of this? What solutions can you offer?

Agriculture plays a crucial role in providing employment to the masses especially in rural areas. However, recently there is an increasing trend of people migrating to the cities in search of work. This has lead to the massive imbalance in the development of the country as a whole. This essay will examine the consequences and possible solutions to this problem. Movement of people from rural areas to the cities depicts miserable condition of current state of agriculture. Firstly, this has caused disparity in the development of rural and urban areas. More labour migrating to cities leaves with extremely less people for agriculture sector. This has hampered the development of rural areas. Moreover, this has also lead to over-population in the urban areas which has adversely affected employment. The possible solution to curb this problem is that the government should develop various policies regarding the improvement of agriculture. More pragmatic approach should be followed and it should involve practical possible solutions to make agriculture a profitable venture. Efforts like to increase MSP (Minimum Support Price) of the farmer’s produce should be initiated. Facilities like permanent means of irrigation should be provided. For example, adoption of cost-effective techniques of farming and imparting the farmers with the proper training. To conclude, it is clearly suggested by the facts discussed in this essay that government should step in this critical time to upgrade the situation of agriculture so that people must stay in their respective villages and this imbalance in the economy could be restored.