More and more children play computer games in their free time. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

In contemporary society, it is undoubted that new technologies are leading to changes in young children’s recreational activities. Therefore, increasingly children spend their free time playing video games. From my perspective, the benefits of these trends are more significant than the drawbacks. On the one hand, there are two main strengths of electronic games which children play. Firstly, playing video games is a form of entertainment to reduce stress, and enjoy their time. Due to this fact, a plethora of students feel comfortable by virtue of playing games after long days studying. Secondly, numerous useful skills and necessary qualities can be created by computer games. In light of the fact that it is beneficial for children to interact and join in groups in some matches. For instance, creativity, logical thinking, and fast reflexes which are indispensable skills in the future can be enhanced by playing games. On the other hand, there is also a common drawback behind this trend. Many people believe that if children spend hours playing games, they will become addicted. Therefore, it is easy to lead to deterioration in health such as short-sightedness and hunchback disease. For example, children at school age have damaged eyesight due to playing electronic games for a long time. As a result, when they do not manage time to play well, it is easy to have urgent drawbacks. To sum up, I would argue that the pros of electronic games outweigh the cons when children arrange their time reasonably. Personally, the appearance of computer games has brought certain values for children.