More And More Businesses As Well As Individuals Are Choosing To Communicate Using Technology. Discuss the advantages and dis-advantages.

It is an irrefutable fact that the mode of communication has changed enormously with the advent of the internet. People prefer to use different technologies while communicating instead of having a face to face conversation. This essay will explain the positive and negative aspects of online communication. One of the most important advantages of using technology is that it helps to cross the geographical barrier. For instance, a person sitting in India can contact his European clients instantly using email or Skype. This can be beneficial for the expansion of his business as he can interact with people from all over the world. Moreover, this way of interaction helps to reduce a lot of overheads like travel expenses and the cost incurred for setting up a meeting destination. On the flip side, excessive dependence on communication technologies has its own disadvantages. To begin with, people lose the personal connect / connection when they refrain from face to face communication. This can make them feel lonely and depressed as they are devoid of social life and it can have a detrimental effect on their mental health. Furthermore, chances of fraud increase when we converse via phone or email, as we cannot verify the physical identity of the person we are interacting / conversing with. To conclude, though technology has made communication easier and more convenient, there are numerous disadvantages as well if it is used excessively. So the mode of communication should be chosen judiciously taking into account several factors such as distance and time.