Modern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from the internet for no charge.

The widespread spread of the Internet around the world has made cultural dissemination much easier and faster than before. These days, it's effortless to get any type of book or song in seconds, even those that are copyrighted. From my point of view, this trend is negative initially but, in the long term, it can stimulate the legal digital market of artistic content. First and foremost, very market needs to be profitable: the music and the book industry are not exceptions. The authors are not amateurs and they have the right to have an income to sustain themselves and to keep doing their artistic activity on a full time basis. With the possibility to take every content for free, the quality of the contents itself is destined to decline, since nobody is committed to invest energy, time and money without a return. For instance, we are witnessing a dramatic decline in the purchases of new CDs and concerts' tickets, due to the fact that a growing number of people do not want to pay for music; even the readers are in constant decline a bit everywhere for the same reasons. However, some people argue that the diffusion of digital contents on the web is positive for the cultural enrichment of many individuals who find the legal market inaccessible, due to environmental or economic reasons. This statement is true, but if all the consumers were acting in this way, the market would collapse in a few times. Indeed, the market has adapted itself to an increasing demand of digital music and sound, providing them legally, instead of breaching the legit rights of the authors. Moreover, the services who provide legal music or streaming download are undoubtedly rising as well as the offer of ebooks, so the overall cost for the final customer is declining considering that a digital copy is much cheaper than a physic one. To sum up, the diffusion of copyrighted material for free is a negative trend because basically it harms the authors' income and the overall health of the market, but, on the same it can improve de overall demand of legal songs and books.