Modern societies need specialists in certain fields, but not in others. Some people therefore think that governments should pay university fees for students who study subjects that are needed by society. Those whoo chooss to study less relevant subjects should not receive government funding. would the advantages of such an educational policy outweigh the disadvantages?

In a modern society, a tendency of studying popular subjects at universities has been observed. Research has shown, that a big number of students choose their future profession according to the demand provided by the job market. This made certain fields such as Business, Law or Informational Technologies more attractive than science, for example. I strongly disagree with the opinion that, only the relevant subjects should be funded by the government. First of all, this is clearly a discrimination to those, who want to connect their future profession to the science or other fields that are in minority. On the contrary, the popularity and development of less relevant subjects should be encouraged by the ministry of education. The outcome of funding only those students, who choose faculties that are on demand would be that, the higher number of students will enroll in such fields, which automatically rises demand on certain types of jobs, the market will not be able to meet those and later there will be a number of jobless students. Eventually, they will lose interest in other fields, and in the end, the higher education of the country will be affected. In my view, the government should use all the incentives in order to encourage potential students in choosing different faculties. All things considered, the government, in accordance with the ministry of education should promote such fields by informative meetings, free seminars and lectures and make clear what future opportunities and benefits come along with working with such fields.