Mobile phones and the internet are useful for older people. What are the ways they can use it? How they can be encouraged?

Mobile phones and the internet are very useful for old people. However, this section of population The world becomes a smaller place due to technological advancement. Especially mobile phones are now an integral part of everyone’s life. Although having access to smartphones, senior citizens are reluctant to use it at full efficiency, hence their use is limited to voice calling only. In spite, this generation can be encouraged to use phone, internet and technology for their betterment. Starting from killing the time to net banking, mobile and internet is bliss for senior citizens. Social media platforms like Instagram, Facebook and Twitter can help them to spend their lonely time with informative content and social connect as well. If they are living alone, they can be connected to their dear ones through video calling and experienced to be together. Various application is exclusively meant for senior citizens having a religious narrative, prayers that can be listened every day to calm down themselves. In addition, online shopping and banking can minimize the physical effort required by doorstep delivery and no hassle of travelling. However, the older generation is afraid of using an internet smartphone because they always question the privacy and security of such technologies. Though, they can be motivated to use it by generating awareness, teaching and providing handholding support. For example, we gifted a smartphone to my grandfather on his ‘diamond jubilee’ birthday but he was affirmative to not to use the phone as it was complex for him to use. But once I and my younger brother had shown him each and every function of the phone and use of the internet, he found it easy and now using it at the same pace we are using. In nutshell, if one can teach and motivate the senior citizen on the usefulness of mobile and internet, this generation can do wonders in using this technology for their individual benefits.