Memorization of information by frequent repetition plays a role in many education systems. What are its advantages and disadvantages?

It has been observed that the technique of rote learning is usednowadays in many educational institutes to make students rememberacademic content. Along with numerous benefits, this style of learning has several drawbacks as well. Both the aspects are discussed further. Analyzing the brighter side of rote learning, the foremost one is that itis very effective in primary education. That is, the young learners can betaught various concepts like alphabets, numbers and multiplication tables. Moreover, this style of learning can be implemented in some subjects in the secondary schools where there is no logical way of understanding concepts. To exemplify, dates, names and events can be easilyremembered in history by developing suitable mnemonics. Likewise, chemical equations and other formulas can be hard-wired into the mind in the course of chemistry by memorizing. On the contrary, cramming has several downsides as well. To begin with, pupils do not understand the principles of a lesson. To illustrate, inthe subject of physics, a student may mug up the “Laws of Motion”, but will not be able to solve word-problems without a clear understanding of its concepts. Besides this, there is no long-term gain for the student. This learning method may be helpful in passing theoretical exams, but it will not impart practical knowledge. This may hinder job prospects, where a candidate will have to demonstrate his vocational skills. To recapitulate, although there are some positives of learning lessons by heart, there are many problems associated with it that impede learning. Therefore, I believe that students should not indulge in senseless memorization.