memorising facts is the most important way to succeed in education. with this statement?

It is often argued that it is more advantegous to memorise certain facts to achieve high marks in education. Personally, I completely disagree with this opinion and think that understanding the information much more important than remembering them. First and foremost, those people, who good at memorising facts, have developed their short-term memory. What I mean here is that they can forget them after studying. Even if someone is keep information that had been before, this person will not understand it and also explain it. For instance, a lot of students use the technique before taking exams. They might be get too highest scores, but learners will forget the information after after passing time. That's why it is more important not to commit all materials in short-time storage. Secondly, understanding and using the facts effectively keeps you brad minded and therefore leads to a success in education. In other words, all subjects based on facts and reserachers but better memorising cannot show that people perceive fully. Student who love the theories can easily excel in their fields of subjects in school and achieve better results than those who put learning facts on the first place. In conclusion, I strongly believe that understanding facts is more beneficial than memorising them because it makes adolescents open-minded and motivated.