Media coverage of celebrities is having negative effect on children

In the past, news about famous people was confined only to gossip column in newspapers whereas now a days they make the front-page news which is quite eye catching for everyone including the children. Media coverage of famous personalities like actors, musicians or athletes is on rise which in turn can have negative effect on kids. We shall discuss the effects in the paragraphs to follow. With the increase in advanced technology everyone has access to internet which when used in excess can be harmful. To get high TRP the media network tries to cover all the famous personalities which is easily accessible to everyone. Due to these kids try to imitate the people they are observing even the deadly stunts which actors do in the expert supervision. For instance, a kid in India tried to jump from the 30th floor of an apartment after seeing his favorite actor perform the same stunt which proved deadly. Another possible consequence of the coverage is the tendency to confuse fame and notoriety. Media houses not only cover the positive aspects of their life but negative as well. Celebrities are often seen doing charity work and helping the needy. But even the news of them being involved in criminal activities and drugs is not hidden. Hence children will think doing drugs is fine if they are doing charity which is incorrect. And many people try to have the same glamorous life as they are having. Numerous kids try to opt for a shortcut method to achieve their goals in life which can lead to permanent damage. In conclusion media houses should be responsible when they are telecasting stories related to celebrities because it can have severe effects on our future generation which can be irreversible. And parents should shrink the screen time for kids as well.