The world is facing a "Boy Crisis"

The future is looking increasingly female in the developed world. As the roles of both men and women in society change, more and more young boys and men feel their lives to be purposeless, leading many to look for escape in drugs, video games, and violence. Should we be concerned with this problem? According to the author of this article, we all should be very concerned. This trend is not only an issue of national security but an economic as well. While he focuses on the situation in the US, this is a global problem. The author of this article cites many types of research to demonstrate that boys are becoming increasingly unhealthy, useless, and dumper in the marketplace. He believes that the chief source of the problem is the lack of male parent's influence as more children are raised in single-parent families, and fewer fathers are engaged in their children's upbringing. This lack of involvement, as well as shifting roles of men and women in society in each sphere, are leaving young people with less direction and general indifference to the world around them. The solution that he offers is better education in two ways: 1) young people should get prepared for the changing needs in the economy, and 2), both men and women should be made aware of the changes in attitude they need to make about their roles in and out of the home. For instance, men ought to accept the greater role of fathers, and women need to accept that men can raise children and do not need solely to secure the income. If the household responsibilities and financial duties were equally shared, children would be better off, as well as the entire world. Lastly, he considers the role of the government in helping its citizens in the transition to this way to be crucial.