Many young people today know more about international pop and movie stars than about famous people in their country. Why is this? What can be done to increase young people’s interest in famous people in the history of their country?

It is true that in this day and age, an increasing number of people are becoming more interested in well-known foreign celebrities, such as pop and movie stars rather than the famous people in their own country. This essay will provide some of the major causes of this tendency and suggest several possible solutions to tackle this problem. There are several reasons why the young nowadays pay little interest in the history of their country. To begin with, social media makes contributions to the increasing interest of the young generation in celebrities. It is remarkable that movies and music from other countries is easily accessible to everyone as long as we have an Internet connection. We, as being young people, have a tendency to be attracted to or even obsessed with the diverse culture, the amazing and wealthy life of those famous stars. This leads to being more fascinated about such topics. In addition, another cause of this trend is the tedious teaching method of history at high school. It is noted that history is not attractive per se, resulting in the fact that students will suffer from utter boredom if their teachers fail to make history more interesting. However, various approaches can be adopted to make young people more interested in history and historical people. First, it is vital for governments and educators to promote some compulsory courses concentrating on the country’s history or culture so that people, especially adolescents, are well-informed of their own country’s prominent historical figures. In addition, film makers should be encouraged to produce movies based on key historical events. Young people will be eager to watch such movies, therefore, they will gain more knowledge about a particular historical period by watching those films. In conclusion, it is clear that there are various reasons why young people these days do not pay attention to history as they do to celebrities, and steps need to be dealt with this problem.