Many young people today know more about international pop and movie stars than about famous people in the history of their country Why is this What can be done to increase young people s interest in famous people in the history of their country

It has become common that international musicians and actors are embraced by the young generation, and the knowledge about local historical people is abandoned by them. the intensive focus of media on renowned celebrities is the main cause of this change, and to alter this affection of youngsters, schools can play a vital role. To begin with, the influence of media is the major reason for the fascination for stars among young people. This is because the Media telecast news about famous stars to increase the number of viewers as they are followed by the youth. So, this over-emphasis boosts the fan following and attracts more people from this age group. This results in decreased curiosity towards getting information about native important people from the past. For example, A survey conducted in India in 2019 revealed that the TRP of news channels increased by 30% whenever information related to actors and actresses is telecasted. Besides, making historic personalities part of the school curriculum can be a solution to this problem. Because adding this type of information in subjects will force students to gain knowledge to perform better in their academics. Not only this, but this information should also be provided through documentaries or movies so that it will get the attention of students. For instance, movies made on the life stories of freedom fighters in India make people of all ages aware of these important martyrs. To conclude, The ignorance of important people from the past, and acceptance of real-life heroes are the consequence of the emphasis on media, and teaching about real-life heroes from the past in schools would attract young people.