Many women are choosing to have children later in life. Why is this? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that many women now prefer to start a family later in life. I believe that there are both financial and social factors which help to account for this trend, and I would argue that this change has more advantages than disadvantages. The option of having children when they are older is preferred by many women in today’s world for a number of reasons. Firstly, in a family often both the woman and the man need to work in order to make ends meet. Before embarking on parenthood they must take into account their financial ability to support a family of one or more children. Secondly, in social terms, an increasing number of marriages end in divorce, and women are concerned about maintaining a single parent household. In the past, members of the extended family helped with child-minding, but working mothers now generally have to pay for this. I consider that the positive aspects of this trend outweigh the negative ones. On the one hand, many women, when they are still young, would love to have children, because children bring happiness and laughter. On the other hand, the explosion of the human population has put enormous pressure on the environment and led to the depletion of natural resources. By having children later in life, women have fewer children and this may help humanity to avoid an ecological crisis which could threaten our existence. For example, the one child policy introduced in China in 1980 led many women to have their first child later, and as a result the population could continue to be fed. In conclusion, for economic and social reasons many women are choosing to have children later in life. Despite the disadvantages, I believe that these are outweighed by the