Many top universities are providing online courses to students as an alternative of on campus cause everyone can have access to them. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Opinions are divided as to whether or not academic institutions should supersede traditional lectures in the university by courses on online platforms. In my opinion, while some assert that this phenomenon has some drawbacks, it is not to say that online classrooms do not have any redeeming features. On the one hand, there are some justifications why the replacement of on-campus classes with virtual lectures is perceived as a disadvantaged trend. Firstly, online meetings can only be conducted in places where cutting-edge technology is present. In particular, if some parts the world lack high-speed Internet and adequate devices, an online meeting might be interrupted abruptly due to the intermittent connection. Therefore, this is a task of challenge for both teachers and students to discuss thoroughly the lessons, which causes some misleading to be present. Second, when students learn online, some fundamental activities that provide empirical experience would be reduced. For example, learners major in chemistry can only grasp theoretical knowledge via virtual lessons but cannot gain access to conduct chemical reactions. This means that they do not know about the ways that reactants interact and accumulate practical knowledge to yield the purest products. On the other hand, I believe that academic courses on the internet play a pivotal role. To begin with, virtual interaction offers members of tertiary schools increased flexibility, which allows them to balance the demand for work, study and family. To be more specific, instead of spending hours commuting to schools and inch along in a bumper-to-bumper traffic, adult students and teachers can manage their schedule and devote more time to revise the lesson and educate their children. Furthermore, virtual lectures enable students from all over the world to acquire up-to-the-minute knowledge. For instance, though doctors in the highlands of Vietnam are separated by geographical barriers, they can still attend lectures of Continuing medical education programs held in megacities and around the globe to update themselves with state-of-the-art medical technology and modern medical treatments. In conclusion, to some people, although providing courses to replace conventional ones may have negative outcomes, I believe that the positive results are of fundamental importance.