“Over 80 percent of the respondents to a recent survey indicated a desire to reduce their intake of foods containing fats and cholesterol, and today low-fat products abound in many food stores. Since many of the food products currently marketed by Old D

A newsletter offered an advice to stockholders to sell their shares and investors not to purchase stocks from Old Dairy Company. The author recommended this because the company sales are likely to decline and profits made by the company will reduce. However, as more light is shed on issues and more detailed facts are concerned, lack of answers through an argument, leads me to question its validity. First of all, Is the survey conducted genuine? In other words, did the survey consulted people who are already obese or were they lean? It might happen that people who responded to survey might be having obesity so they tend to choose food which has less fat. There is a possibility that the questions in the survey were designed in such a way that people tend to choose the option of less fat. If the above scenarios are true, then the argument is weakened. Secondly, do people actually follow the option which they have chosen in the survey? Maybe people just submitted the easy based on what is a healthy food but do they really change? Perhaps, people are tend to take low fat food but they might take fat foods to once in a while. If the above assumptions are valid, then argument does not hold water. Finally, do Old Dairy Industries does not produce any other products other than high in fat and cholesterol food? Maybe there are other products too which are sold highly by Old Dairy Industries. Perhaps, the revenue generated by the Old Dairy industries is not solely based on the fat products. If the above scenarios are merit, then the strength of the recommendation can be weakened. In conclusion, the argument, as it is stands now, is flawed. However, if the author proved necessary evidence and can answer above questions, then the argument can be possibly evaluated.