Many teenagers enjoy being in a collective and are united in different subcultures. Some youngsters, however, think that subcultures are for nothing

Most teenagers are sensitive to what their friends think of them and they are ready to do everything to be like their peers. So many youngsters experiment with minor delinquency, inappropriate behavior and rebellion. Sometimes young people express their protest forming different groups and clubs. They join these clubs according to their interests: music, style of clothes, racial views and so on. For example, the Skinheads are known for their intolerance to immigrants. They can be very dangerous as they attack and kill people of other nationalities. Adolescents often join a juvenile delinquent group to improve their status and to raise their self-esteem. There are various groups and subcultures in which deviant behaviour and violence play an important role and increase a youth's status. To my mind, the existence of subcultures leads to the increase in criminality. I strongly feel that if you want to protest, you must do it peacefully without doing harm to other people and to yourself. On the other hand, the situation is not as bad as it may seem to be. There are many teenagers who don't belong to any subcultures. They are not involved in violent or criminal behavior and they spend much time and effort on their studies and part-time work. Such youngsters know what they want and feel that they are responsible for their future. To sum up, young people's lives and happiness depend on our society: on the political and social situation in the country, on our culture and morality. I think that if adults pay more attention to teenagers' upbringing and education, there will be fewer subcultures and consequently fewer crimes.