Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

Nowadays, going to the university is getting more common between students that graduate from high school. However, many people are not aware of what they want to do with their lives at such a young age, so a well-known option is to take a sabbatical year where they can do multiple things related to work, travel, learn new languages, among many others. In my opinion, this is an excellent idea for people who are unsure and insecure about what they want to study or what are their skills, before rushing into an important decision as going to the university. Many students are only teenagers when they finish their school studies, they use to be 16 or 17, an age that for several of them means having no sense of what they want to address in their lives. Some students do not have the maturity to take the decision of choose a profession and start an adult life from one day to another. In this respect, taking a gap year provides the students the time to settle down and commence to realize what is coming for their future. They can work trough the year and save money to afford their tertiary studies, or gain experience in a certain field before compromise to study about it. Also they can travel to know other cultures, learn other languages and experiment the independent life before living it for real. Whatever students do before enrolling to an university, will provide them the maturity they need and will aid them to clear their minds about what they want for their futures, owing to the mental rest that the break from studies would bring them. For instance, a research shows that the 78% of university students who took the gap year, assure that they made an amazing decision in their profession they chose, whereas the 61% who did not had the sabbatical year, mentions that they might have taken a wrong career path. In conclusion, taking a gap year is not a waste of time from my point of view, is more an investment of time, as it gives students the possibility to consider different options, get mature and get life experience.