Some people believe that countries should produce the food to feed their population themselves and import as little as possible. To what extant do you agree or disagree?

According to some people instead of importing food from outside a native should grow enough food for its people. I completely agree with this view. To begin with it benefits local farmers. Demand for their produce will increase and they will get good price. Furthermore, every sector will grow and this will revitalize the economy. As an example according to Times report, Iran is not able to cultivate corn. Hence the Importation is beneficial for the countries that are impossible for them to grow particular production. Besides, it is good for environment, when food is grown locally, it doesn’t have to transported from long distances. As a result, food transfer directly from farms to the markets is healthier since it doesn’t need any preservatives and chemical additives. Japan is good example that cultivate its feed and import as less as possible. It is believed that producing requisite feed for citizens is lucrative. To sum up, countries should try to produce as much food as possible because it doesn’t only benefits the health of their people but also boosts their economy, reduces air pollution and makes them lets dependent on others.