Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults

There is no doubt that to compete is an essential quality in children and should be motivated, I believe that cooperation is a more important trait which guides them to become more useful individuals and adults. Those who advocate that a sense of competition in children is important and should be motivated further, may argue that it instills in them a sense of purpose. For instance, on a sports day, students with a spirit to compete will put in their best efforts to win a running race, caring least about their friends or peers. This is because they focus only on their goal and the means to achieve it. As a result, it helps them to conquer any obstacle in their path to victory. However, I would argue that cooperation is a more beneficial attribute, which should be taught to children. This is because it makes the person more inclusive and open to give a helping hand to others. It helps an individual rise above all barriers and unite with others to promote mutual well-being. For example, a child who is co-operative will help his friends with homework and exam preparations, rather than being selfish to attain the highest grade himself/herself and denying to help others. Moreover, being co-operative helps one to become a better individual, by sharing everyone’s joys and sorrows and helping people to rise up when they face hurdles. In conclusion, although a competitive spirit gives one a sense of purpose and achievement, a co-operative student and adult gives back more to society by helping and becoming caring individuals, and I believe that the foundation of the human society lies on co-operation.