Many retired people today are choosing to live in other countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In today’s society, people have been opting to spend their retirement living abroad. In my opinion, this trend basically has both merits and demerits to some extend. Those in favor of this trend can point to that it would be a positive because of financial incentives. The elderly people today retires with their meagre savings and little support from the government, depending on their nationality. If they do not have family to live with them, they often undergo a strong sense of isolation, loneliness and perhaps they have to face with the prospect of living in poverty or just above subsistence in their final years. Therefore, moving abroad, their money would stretch much further and allow them to have a stable life and the peace of mind. For example, in comparison to Western countries, the cost of living in Vietnam is considerably cheaper when it comes to rent a house, transport or even food prices. As a result, retired people could set aside their money to travel or leave an inheritance to their ancestors. Despite of the aforementioned merits from residing abroad, the demerits should be taken into consideration equally. Those who choose to live in a foreign country at the retirement age with fixed income, they may face with culture shock and discrimination. It is noticeable that Eastern culture stands a stark contrast to Western one regarding how to dress tidily and how to choose street style so they need ample time to be accustomed to other different cultureS. Furthermore, radical discrimination often occurred with AsianS that they have been sometimes bullying and exploiting in employment market when they opt for settling down in Europe or America. In conclusion, residing abroad basically have both opposite aspects, the elderly people would be advantageous in terms of financial gains, however, risks is an inevitable part. Before making any decision, it is of paramount important to weigh a number of factors pertaining to THE quality of life, finances, culture as well as family.