During last twenty years, the assessment of students has undergone a major transformation. Many educational institutions have shifted their focus from traditional examination towards a variety of innovative assessment techniques, as they believe traditional examination results are not often true to student’s ability.

For more than a century, traditional exam to evaluate students’ ability was in place and this method is still in use in many parts of the world. Nonetheless, a more suitable and modern approach has been adopted in several schools and this is regarded as a better technique to assess pupils’ learning and knowledge. I personally believe that innovative modern technique assessment is more suitable. To begin with, conventional exam system often has a big flaw and this makes it very difficult to evaluate the true knowledge of a pupil. For instance, in conventional exam paper-pased, students can memorize answers for a few questions and hence they might pass the exam with a good grade. Someone with ittle knowledge on a subject can get a higher score by remembering answers. On the contrary, the innovative approaches such as group assignment, sudden quiz, hands-on tests and so forth can reflect actual level of students’ learning. This is why many educational institutes are shifting towards theses assessment from conventional exam system, and I utterly believe that it will, in the future, become the main evaluation technique. Additionally, paper-based exam system allows students to cheat in the exam and pass it without any even study hard. By contrast, a student would not able to pass the hands-on test or an open book exam where he needs to propose a solution for an issue rather than writing answers from books. From my own experience, A change in evaluation assessment students could be observed in the last two decades and formal examination is less likely to be used in many educational institutes in different areas around the world.